Poetry

swollen papillae

He goes to sleep leaves me to fight the dogs
But I’m not gonna be the first to break
No I’m not gonna be the one to beg
He’s too reasonable to cry but I’m not I’ll scream
Nighttime is the worst refractory period
I remember one sentence in Norsk
Nighttime is the worst
I’m not gonna be the first to beg and
ask a desperate question
I already know the somber answer to
I’m beat
I’ll sleep
fight these damn dogs at dawn
and in seconds between dreams
I’m beat but I won’t wail

Standard

Leave a Reply

