Poetry

good form

Lea smiles at me because our names rhyme

Later she tells me I have good form

Every elemental fragment of potassium has been wrung out of my body now a quivering shuddering mass of inflamed muscle fibers

I do not have good form

My abdominal muscles are flexible and happy to curl my lumbar spine into a seductive lordosis

My lower back is tough and numb, bent in from holding up the weight of brain and breasts

My lower back is resigned to the lazy laxity of my belly

It feels silly that my spine will move so easily in one direction but not the other

The class is like good amphetamine and I can’t sleep

Physiologically my TVA is relearning responsibility

remebering good form

Standard

Leave a Reply

